I saw my cover!

Oh, it’s sensuously sexy. It’s head shots, but it’s done in such a way that it’s very sexy. I’ll admit I love those guys on the covers. And I do have a few favorites. Yes, I’ve bought books because the guy on the cover looked really good. It’s not the best way to buy a book. I’ve been more than disappointed on a few occasions. I’ve learned to read the blurbs.

Never judge a book by it’s cover! A sexy cover might capture your attention but will the story inside hold your attention? Like everyone else I’m learning not to judge by the cover alone. Some of my favorite books have had very plain covers.

The cover is not finished so I can’t show you, but I’m excited. I must wait until everything is finalized. I also think I’m waiting for a final set of edits.  This is all new to me. For now, I sit and wait in some limbo state. My release date of Dec. 8 is just around the corner.

I almost met myself getting up every morning last week over edits. The company where I work sent me out of town. I was the one in the hotel room frantically working on my edits while everyone else was having fun.

My other author friends keep telling me to write another book so that’s what I’m doing. Except I’m not up to the writing part. I have characters playing in my head, and I’m trying to find the right things for them. I’d say I plot but my author friend says I’m a pantzer because I’m not making some super outline. But I do like to know where things are going before I begin to write. Anyway I do have a few ideas and I’m letting those characters in my head audition for the part.

I was also told I’m supposed to write something here at least every week. Okay, I’ll try to do that. Maybe next week I can show you my cover! I hope so. It’s going to be awesome! Hey, it’s got my name on it! Right there at the top under the title. I’m going to have a book! A real book.

There are a million books out there, and I’m the new author. They say that’s a tough position to be in because no one knows me. I’m  going to cross my fingers and hope that someone buys my book. Well, more than just one someone, I’m hoping lots of people buy my book because I’ve poured my heart into it. Probably every author pours his or her heart into a book.

My mentor says it’s a good story and my editor kept dropping all sorts of positive comments into the edits. In an odd way, I do feel as though I’ve become good friends with the heroine and the hero – he’s different because he’s much older.

Would I want a man that much older? I think I asked myself a dozen times as I was writing. The only answer I had was that I wouldn’t seek out a man who was that much older, but my heroine wasn’t looking for an older man either. Things just happen and it happened to her.

By the time I finished the story, I felt as though I understood the hero and how he would be enthralled with the heroine. There are plenty of people who have been married and considered themselves happy because everything on the surface seemed perfect. But if given a second chance at love because cupid shoots his arrow, they realize what they missed the first time around.

If you want to read a little about my upcoming release, head on over to Lost Goddess Publishing and read the blurb and excerpt. It’s very much a May/December romance but it’s quite sexy and he’s quite sexy. The excerpt is meant for a mature reader as in over eighteen.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I saw my cover!

  1. I can’t wait to see the cover, Ali. 🙂

    Like

  2. Fabulous cover. Isn’t it exciting to see your name on your first cover? Notice I said first cover. There will be more. Welcome to the wacky world of being an author. Everything you mentioned in your email – all newbie authors and bloggers have wondered about. Babies learn to roll over, then crawl then walk then run and then look out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

